Alabama   •   Arkansas   •   Florida   •   Georgia   •   Kentucky   •   Louisiana   •   Mississippi   •   Oklahoma   •   Tennessee   •   Texas
Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Beginner help and questions

Posted by JBrowntown7 
Beginner help and questions
April 11, 2012 09:04PM
Okay so I'm a beginner and learning how to play strictly on my own with no advice. I have been looking on random sites trying to learn more about discs etc. To fill my bag I went and bought the following
Dx roc. 180
Champion rubbery roc. 180
Dx aviar. 175
Champion beast. 170
Champion monarch. 171
Champion roadrunner. 175
Champion boss. 175
Champion katana Feels like 175
Dx gator 171
Star xcaliber. 175
Dx orc. Lost it lol
Kc pro roc. Lost it

I throw the rocs really well. Throw the monarch and beast well. Did throw Orc well. Can't throw boss or caliber at all. Struggling with the katana. Throw roadrunner decent. Never use gator or aviar. I use roc to putt.
My current questions are these. True or false. Pro and dx go farther than champions because champions trade distance for durability and stability. ? Also pro and dx easier to throw for beginners rather than champions? I found that piece of info on a site. And a 160 beast better than a 170 because lighter is better for beginners????.

Would appreciate any recommendations or advice in discs or whatever u can think of.
50 replies better than one person so I have more to learn off of
Re: Beginner help and questions
April 11, 2012 09:08PM
I currently am about to buy a pro beast. Pro katana. Pro valkyre and another roc based on this info. So need other opinions so I do not waste money
April 11, 2012 09:10PM
Welcome to the sport and the site! I would say first, don't worry about the high speed stuff like the Boss, Xcaliber, or Katana. Put them away and worry about throwing your slower stuff first. Also, try to learn to putt with the Aviar. I think it will be beneficial in the long run. A good bag for now could be as follows:

DX Aviar