Over adult beverages last night a few of us got onto a debate... Do you have to finish a round with ONLY the discs that you started the round with????? if so , is it a rule or is it from the competition manual??? I have been looking but haven't found anything..... THANKS
No. You can replace discs from your car or even buy them during a round. You can borrow discs from other players. Just make sure they are uniquely marked or indicate that your "mark" is the player's name who is on that disc you borrowed.
I would agree with you, but Matt Orum said that when he was on tour in Cali last, after the round started he found a disc of his and the guys in his group insisted that he could not use it or add it to his bag since he had started without it!!! I have looked pretty carefully and I don't see any such rule, I am checking discretionary rules now.. BP#5996
The only time I've seen a player's disc not be allowed for the rest of the round is when the TD makes that a stipulation when a player throws OB on a specific hazard or hole. That rule is not allowed in a PDGA event although I've heard it has been done. The TD of course can make that a requirment in a non-PDGA event.
I believe the fable has its origins in ball golf rules that do not allow a player to carry more than 14 clubs in a round. If you start with 14 clubs, you are not allowed to get a club from the parking lot during the round if you lose a club. However, if you start the round with less than 14 clubs, you are allowed to add clubs during the round from a store, friend, or trunk up to the maximum 14.
Thankyou for your answers... they are the same as I thought..... sometimes locals play somethings their own way... those Cali boys are different!!! For sure dude..... Thought it might be a descretionary rule but it is not listed ANYWHERE... Thanks again,I will tell MattiO that his homeboys screwed him!!! LOL