Alabama   •   Arkansas   •   Florida   •   Georgia   •   Kentucky   •   Louisiana   •   Mississippi   •   Oklahoma   •   Tennessee   •   Texas
Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Lefty Disc Golfers

Posted by Lefty 
Lefty
Lefty Disc Golfers
January 22, 2003 10:17PM
Any other lefties out there?
I am a novice and still trying to find my game.
Any suggestions for discs that work well for lefties that prefer to fingerpop would be much appreciated.
I have had good success with the Bomb for long distance, the Roc for mid range and the Ching for putting. I am sure that there are better discs out there for my game though...
Re: Lefty Disc Golfers
January 23, 2003 01:11PM
Hey what's up lefty. My name is Will Timmons, and like you I am wrong handed. Where are you from? How novice are you? Have you had any tournament experiance? Welcome to the the wonderful world of disc golf!!

The only advice I can really give you is to keep trying different discs, but if you fingerpop alot, do the discs go more left or right? Usually an Eagle or Tee-bird are good for those, (I throw lefty backhand, and righty forehand, so I have to learn how to turn discs over. Jim O's son Matthew knows everything about every disc, so if he ever gets on line he might beable to help you more than I. (even though he is a @#$%& righty)

Welcome to the sport and if I can help you any more, let me know.

Peace,
Will T
January 23, 2003 01:48PM
Hey Lefty I am a lefty also. I am, at the moment, a COMPLETELY side arm thrower. People call what I do a finger pop, but that is actually in accurate for me because of how I grip the disc.

Just to let you know what it is I throw (which might or might not work for you,) I really like 175g KC Banshees, and as heavy as I can get them Rams, KC Eagles, and KC Firebirds.

I have a problem in that most discs I throw go right (it is called an anhyzer throw,) therefore I have sought out some of the most overstable discs available, which are the discs I have listed.